Sorry to post a question here but not sure which major threads will be active as we move toward Christmas Eve.
Can someone explain the call related to Stevie's TD drop? He had possession, crossed the goal line with possession, and it appeared that the ground caused the fumble. I understand that a reception requires the play be finished but how is this rule interpreted on a crossing the goal line play? I guess the ground can cause a fumble in that he didn't finish the play? Or maybe the officials ruled he didn't have possession as he crossed the goal line?
Separately, should Gailey have challenged this play and if he had would the ruling have been reversed?
Thanks and Merry Christmas!