clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Smith, Wilson elected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Bruce2_medium Ralph_medium

DE Bruce Smith, owner Ralph C. Wilson, Jr.
Photos courtesy Tom Wolf

Former Buffalo Bills defensive end Bruce Smith was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday, and he'll be joined by long-time Bills owner Ralph C. Wilson, Jr.  The pair of Bills headline a 2009 Hall of Fame class which includes former Steelers DB Rod Woodson, former Vikings OL Randall McDaniel, the late Derrick Thomas, a former Chiefs linebacker, and former Cowboys WR Bob Hayes.

In what is sure to be an unforgettable weekend for Bills fans this coming August, the current Bills will participate in the 2009 Hall of Fame Game against the Tennessee Titans.  The first pre-season game of the 2009 NFL season will take place a day after Smith and Wilson are inducted at Canton, Ohio.

Congratulations to Bruce and Ralph!