clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Clarification On Buffalo Bills Free Agent Class

It's been speculated for some time that once a new Collective Bargaining Agreement is in place and NFL free agency begins, players with four or more accrued seasons would be unrestricted free agents. (In 2010, the uncapped year, unrestricted free agency did not begin until the sixth accrued season for veterans.) Peter King of Sports Illustrated is the latest voice to lend credence to that idea in his latest MMQB column.

We've still had many questions, however, about which Buffalo Bills players will be restricted or unrestricted once free agency begins. This is the best answer we can provide you today, and it's based off of data supplied by Chris Brown of just this morning.

Players that will be unrestricted: ILB Akin Ayodele, CB Drayton Florence

Players that are expected to be unrestricted (4-5 accrued seasons): OT Mansfield Wrotto, DE John McCargo, ILB Paul Posluszny, ILB Keith Ellison, CB Ashton Youboty, S Donte Whitner, S George Wilson

Players that will be restricted: QB Brian Brohm, RB Quinton Ganther, WR Felton Huggins, TE Jonathan Stupar, TE Scott Chandler, LS Garrison Sanborn