clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills 53-Man Roster Projection: Take Four

We're getting down to crunch time, friends. The Buffalo Bills have already begun roster cuts, and by this Saturday afternoon, they'll have made at least 28 more to get down to the NFL-maximum 53 players. This is our fourth and penultimate stab at guessing what moves the team will make to meet those requirements this week.

If you're looking for a refresher, take a look at last week's projection before heading in after the jump. There have been some changes, but as has been the theme this year, said changes were minor.

  • The first change takes place on the offensive line, where we've swapped Mansfield Wrotto in for Geoff Hangartner. If you read this post on Saturday, you'll understand why we made the swap. If you didn't read it, you should.
  • In another minor change, we've flipped Spencer Johnson into the starting lineup ahead of Dwan Edwards. Johnson has been highly impressive this pre-season, and while both players will likely see a lot of playing time next to Kyle Williams and Marcell Dareus, we'll give Johnson the starting nod for now.
  • Kirk Morrison, signed last week, replaces Reggie Torbor on our final roster. No big surprise there, of course, but worth noting in our change log nonetheless.
  • We've officially listed Alex Carrington as a Sam linebacker, where he's a backup to Chris Kelsay. That moves Danny Batten over to Jack, where he teams with Antonio Coleman to back up Shawne Merriman. Again, this is an aesthetic change, as opposed to a change to our final roster.
Pos. # Starter # Backup # Reserve
WR 19 Donald Jones 11 Roscoe Parrish 81 Marcus Easley
LT 77 Demetrius Bell 71 Ed Wang
LG 67 Andy Levitre 76 Chad Rinehart
C 70 Eric Wood

RG 60 Kraig Urbik 61 Mansfield Wrotto
RT 79 Erik Pears 75 Chris Hairston*
TE 84 Scott Chandler 80 David Martin
WR 13 Stevie Johnson 86 David Nelson 18 Naaman Roosevelt
QB 14 Ryan Fitzpatrick 4 Tyler Thigpen 16 Brad Smith
RB 22 Fred Jackson 28 C.J. Spiller 35 Johnny White*
FB 38 Corey McIntyre
LE 99 Marcell Dareus* 72 Kellen Heard

NT 95 Kyle Williams 96 Torell Troup
RE 91 Spencer Johnson 98 Dwan Edwards
SLB 90 Chris Kelsay 92 Alex Carrington
MLB 54 Andra Davis 58 Kirk Morrison 94 Chris White*
WLB 50 Nick Barnett 55 Kelvin Sheppard* 52 Arthur Moats
JLB 56 Shawne Merriman 59 Antonio Coleman 57 Danny Batten
LCB 24 Terrence McGee 21 Leodis McKelvin
SS 37 George Wilson 43 Bryan Scott 25 Da'Norris Searcy*
FS 31 Jairus Byrd
RCB 29 Drayton Florence 23 Aaron Williams* 27 Reggie Corner
K 9 Rian Lindell
P 8 Brian Moorman
LS 65 Garrison Sanborn

Players cut (28): QB Levi Brown, RB Bruce Hall, FB Jehuu Caulcrick, WR Buster Davis, WR Felton Huggins, WR Kamar Aiken, WR Ruvell Martin, TE Shawn Nelson, TE Mike Caussin, TE Zack Pianalto, OT Cordaro Howard, OT Jason Watkins, OG Colin Brown, C Geoff Hangartner, C Michael Switzer, DE Lionel Dotson, DE T.J. Langley, NT Michael Jasper, OLB Jammie Kirlew, OLB Robert Eddins, ILB Brad Jefferson, ILB Brandon Hicks, CB Justin Rogers, CB Doyle Miller, S Jon Corto, S Sidney Glover, S Josh Nesbitt, LS Danny Aiken.

Positional Breakdown

QB (3): Fitzpatrick, Thigpen, Smith
RB (3): Jackson, Spiller, White
FB (1): McIntyre
WR (6): Johnson, Jones, Parrish, Nelson, Roosevelt, Easley
TE (2): Chandler, Martin
OT (4): Bell, Pears, Wang, Hairston
OG (4): Levitre, Urbik, Rinehart, Wrotto
C (1): Wood
DE (4): Dareus, Johnson, Edwards, Heard
NT (2): Williams, Troup
OLB (5): Merriman, Kelsay, Carrington, Coleman, Batten
ILB (6): Barnett, Davis, Morrison, Sheppard, Moats, White
CB (5): Florence, McGee, McKelvin, Williams, Corner
S (4): Byrd, Wilson, Scott, Searcy
SP (3): Lindell, Moorman, Sanborn