clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

August 4, 2001: Marv Levy Enters The Hall Of Fame

Rick Stewart/Getty Images
Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

When Bill Polian inserted Marv Levy as head coach of the Buffalo Bills during the 1986 season, most fans weren't too sure what the change would bring. His previous team, the Kansas City Chiefs, had gone 31-43 during his tenure and, he was 61 years old. The results were, to say the least, acceptable.

On this date 10 years ago, Marv Levy entered the Pro Football Hall of Fame as the winningest coach in Bills history. He's the only coach to take a team to four straight Super Bowls, and he won six division titles with Buffalo. From 1988 through his retirement in 1997, the Bills were first in the AFC in winning percentage, and second only to the San Francisco 49ers in the NFL. He led the Bills to a playoff appearance eight times in an 11-year run.

Levy recorded a 112-70 regular season record, and was 11-8 in the playoffs during his Bills career. The win total placed him at No. 10 all-time at the time of his retirement. He was named NFL Coach of the Year in 1988, and AFC Coach of the Year in 1988, 1993, and 1995.

When he retied, he was the oldest coach in NFL history, and is the only coach with a winning record (17-6) against the winningest coach in NFL history, Don Shula.

Levy was the third Bills alumnus inducted into the Hall, joining O.J. Simpson and Billy Shaw. Jim Kelly, Joe DeLaimelleure, James Lofton, Thurman Thomas, Bruce Smith, and Ralph Wilson have since joined the list of Bills in Canton.