clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2013 Finalists Include Buffalo Bills WR Andre Reed

Former Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed is a Hall of Fame finalist for the seventh consecutive year. Will he finally garner enough votes this year?

Charles LeClaire-US PRESSWIRE

Today, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced 17 finalists for the 2013 NFL Hall of Fame class. On that list is former Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed. Special teamer Steve Tasker, one of the 27 semifinalists, did not advance in the voting process.

Reed has been a finalist every year since 2007, making this his seventh consecutive year as a finalist in eight years of eligibility. He holds most major Bills team records for receivers, including career catches, receiving yards and touchdowns. At the time of his retirement, he had the third-most seasons of 50-plus catches in NFL history, and was third all-time with 951 career receptions.

Tasker has never been a finalist for the Hall of Fame, failing to advance past the semi-final round in each of the past two years. According to his Hall of Fame semifinalist capsule, he's the only special teams player to ever be selected as the Pro Bowl MVP. That hasn't yet been enough to make him a finalist.

Reed has a very good chance of eventually gaining entry into Canton. Prior to last year's induction, 83 percent of finalists eventually earned enshrinement. The class of 2013 will be determined by the selection committee on February 2, just before this year's Super Bowl.

Here is the complete list of finalists: Larry Allen, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Curley Culp, Edward DeBartolo Jr., Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Art Modell, Jonathan Ogden, Bill Parcells, Andre Reed, Dave Robinson, Warren Sapp, Will Shields, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.