clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 NFL Draft: what can the Bills expect at No. 8?

Donte Whitner is not the NFL's most successful No. 8 overall pick, thank goodness.

Rick Stewart
Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

For the second time in eight years, the Buffalo Bills are scheduled to select with the No. 8 overall pick - this time in the 2013 NFL Draft. In 2006, the team drafted Ohio State safety Donte Whitner in that slot, and we all know how well that worked out.

The Bills also selected eighth overall in 1987, where they nabbed three-time Pro Bowl linebacker Shane Conlan, a solid contributor in three of the Bills four Super Bowl runs (though he did depart as a free agent). Sam Adams eventually found his way to the Bills after being selected eighth overall by the Seattle Seahawks in 1994, and played three seasons in Buffalo with one Pro Bowl nod.

Recently, such gems as linebacker Rolando McClain and defensive end Derrick Harvey have flopped, but most have become solid contributors at various positions. Looking further back, a few Hall of Famers have been taken eighth overall: Willie Roaf in 1993, Mike Munchak in 1982 and Ronnie Lott the year before.

Here is the full list from the last 25 years. if you are interested in all of the eighth picks since the AFL-NFL merger, check out this chart at Pro Football Reference.

Year Player Pos. Team
2012 Ryan Tannehill QB Miami Dolphins
2011 Jake Locker QB Tennessee Titans
2010 Rolando McClain ILB Oakland Raiders
2009 Eugene Monroe OT Jacksonville Jaguars
2008 Derrick Harvey DE Jacksonville Jaguars
2007 Jamaal Anderson DE Atlanta Falcons
2006 Donte Whitner SS Buffalo Bills
2005 Antrel Rolle CB Arizona Cardinals
2004 DeAngelo Hall CB Atlanta Falcons
2003 Jordan Gross OT Carolina Panthers
2002 Roy Williams S Dallas Cowboys
2001 David Terrell WR Chicago Bears
2000 Plaxico Burress WR Pittsburgh Steelers
1999 David Boston WR Arizona Cardinals
1998 Greg Ellis DE Dallas Cowboys
1997 James Farrior ILB New York Jets
1996 Tim Biakabutuka RB Carolina Panthers
1995 Joey Galloway WR Seattle Seahawks
1994 Sam Adams DT Seattle Seahawks
1993 Willie Roaf T New Orleans Saints
1992 Bob Whitfield OT Atlanta Falcons
1991 Antone Davis OT Philadelphia Eagles
1990 Chris Singleton ILB New England Patriots
1989 Burt Grossman DE San Diego Chargers
1988 Dave Cadigan OG New York Jets