clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills to hold Wall of Fame tribute on September 15

The Buffalo Bills announced they will have no new Wall of Fame members this season, and will instead honor all 28 past inductees at halftime in Week 2.

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills will honor all 28 members of the team's Wall of Fame on September 15 with a special halftime tribute in Week 2 against the Carolina Panthers, the team announced today. It was also announced that there would be no new addition for the 2013 season.

"In a halftime ceremony, participating members will be presented with an honorary Wall of Fame blazer adorned with the official Wall of Fame logo to celebrate their many accomplishments and contributions to the Buffalo Bills organization," said the press release.

The most significant part of the announcement wasn't included in the press release, but reported by Mark Gaughan of The Buffalo News: there will be no new Wall of Fame inductee this year. Legitimate candidates from the AFL era, '90s Super Bowl teams and 2000s are readily available. It's only the second time since 1992 that a member has not been added during the season (the other: 2009).

Here is the complete list of honorees, per the team's website.

2012 - Bill Polian
2011 - Phil Hansen
2010 - Booker Edgerson
2008 - Bruce Smith
2007 - Steve Tasker
2006 - Andre Reed
2005 - Thurman Thomas
2004 - Jim Ritcher
2003 - Darryl Talley
2002 - Kent Hull
2001 - Fred Smerlas
2001 - Jim Kelly
2000 - George Saimes
2000 - Bob Kalsu
1999 - Edward Abramoski
1998 - Robert James
1997 - Joe DeLamielleure
1996 - Marv Levy
1995 - Joe Ferguson
1994 - Mike Stratton
1993 - Elbert Dubenion
1992 - The 12th Man
1989 - Ralph C. Wilson Jr.
1988 - Billy Shaw
1987 - Tom Sestak
1985 - Patrick J. McGroder
1984 - Jack Kemp
1980 - O.J. Simpson