clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL roster cuts 2013: Buffalo Bills release 18, including Matt Leinart

The Bills aren't done trimming their roster yet, but won't have much work left to do before Saturday's NFL cutdown deadline.

Rick Stewart

The Buffalo Bills announced the release of 18 cuts on Friday evening. Paired with three players (Kevin Kolb, Brad Smith and Drew Smith) landing on Injured Reserve, the Bills' roster now sits at 55 players. They'll need to be down to 53 by 6PM ET on Saturday evening.

Here's the list of Bills players released Friday: quarterback Matt Leinart, running backs Zach Brown and Kendall Gaskins, wide receiver Brandon Kaufman, tight ends Dorin Dickerson and Nick Provo, tackle Zebrie Sanders, guards Antoine Caldwell and Zack Chibane, center David Snow, defensive lineman Jarron Gilbert, linebackers Kourtnei Brown, Keith Pough and Brian Smith, cornerbacks Crezdon Butler, T.J. Heath and Kip Edwards, and safety Jordan Dangerfield.

Curiously, one name not among the cuts list is veteran linebacker Bryan Scott, despite the fact that Tim Graham of The Buffalo News confirmed he'd been released earlier in the day. Graham once again clarifies:

The release of four offensive linemen leaves just eight on the roster, and that total includes Doug Legursky, who appeared to be seriously injured on Thursday night.

Buffalo's coaching staff looks as if they'll take another night to sleep on some very difficult decisions along the defensive line, where they currently have eight players. Gilbert was released, but it's extremely unlikely that all three of Corbin Bryant, Torell Troup and Izaan Cross will be on the team.

Out of the cut list above, only Leinart, Dickerson, Caldwell, Snow, Gilbert and Butler do not have practice squad eligibility.

Here's an updated Bills depth chart containing the 55 players that remain on the active roster this evening.

Pos. Starter Backup Reserve
WR Stevie Johnson Robert Woods Chris Hogan
LT Cordy Glenn Thomas Welch
LG Colin Brown
C Eric Wood Doug Legursky
RG Kraig Urbik
RT Erik Pears Sam Young
TE Scott Chandler Lee Smith Chris Gragg
WR T.J. Graham Marquise Goodwin Marcus Easley
QB EJ Manuel Jeff Tuel Thaddeus Lewis
FB Frank Summers
RB C.J. Spiller Fred Jackson Tashard Choice
RE Mario Williams Jerry Hughes Jamie Blatnick
DT Kyle Williams Jay Ross Izaan Cross
NT Marcell Dareus Alan Branch Torell Troup
DE Alex Carrington Corbin Bryant
WLB Nigel Bradham Bryan Scott
MLB Kiko Alonso Arthur Moats
SLB Manny Lawson Marcus Dowtin Jamaal Westerman
RCB Stephon Gilmore Justin Rogers
SS Aaron Williams Da'Norris Searcy Jonathan Meeks
FS Jairus Byrd Duke Williams
LCB Leodis McKelvin Ron Brooks Nickell Robey
K Dustin Hopkins
P Shawn Powell
LS Garrison Sanborn