clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bills roster cuts 2013: Bryan Scott, Torell Troup, Thaddeus Lewis gone

Thaddeus Lewis, Torell Troup, Izaan Cross, Jamie Blatnick and Bryan Scott are gone - and now the Bills have three roster spots to fill.

Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

The Buffalo Bills have announced the release of five more players on Saturday, bringing their current active roster count all the way down to 50 players. Gone are quarterback Thaddeus Lewis, defensive linemen Torell Troup and Izaan Cross, pass rusher Jamie Blatnick, and linebacker Bryan Scott.

Lewis, Cross and Blatnick are all eligible for the team's practice squad.

Lewis was acquired in a trade with Detroit for linebacker Chris White just last weekend, and his release leaves the Bills with just two quarterbacks on the roster - and one of them, EJ Manuel, is coming off of knee surgery. Either the Bills are comfortable with where Manuel is at from a health perspective, or, more likely, they're targeting a different quarterback to back up Jeff Tuel on opening day.

The defensive line cuts were expected; the releases of Troup and Cross leave the Bills with a more reasonable six defensive linemen on the roster. Scott leaving town, however, means that the Bills have just three traditional linebackers on the roster.

Blatnick is the surprise release of the day, as he'd had a pretty strong showing this summer and played a ton on both defense and special teams in exhibition action. New defensive coordinator Mike Pettine kept veteran Jamaal Westerman - a player that's familiar with his system - over Blatnick as the Bills' eighth linebacker (a total that includes Mario Williams, by the way).

The cut process appears to be over for the Bills; now they need to add three players. Things only get more interesting from here.

Pos. Starter Backup Reserve
WR 13 - Stevie Johnson 10 - Robert Woods 15 - Chris Hogan
LT 77 - Cordy Glenn 66 - Thomas Welch
LG 74 - Colin Brown
C 70 - Eric Wood 59 - Doug Legursky
RG 60 - Kraig Urbik
RT 79 - Erik Pears 71 - Sam Young
TE 84 - Scott Chandler 85 - Lee Smith 89 - Chris Gragg
WR 11 - T.J. Graham 88 - Marquise Goodwin 81 - Marcus Easley
QB 3 - EJ Manuel 8 - Jeff Tuel
FB 38 - Frank Summers
RB 28 - C.J. Spiller 22 - Fred Jackson 20 - Tashard Choice
RE 94 - Mario Williams 55 - Jerry Hughes
DT 95 - Kyle Williams 69 - Jay Ross
NT 99 - Marcell Dareus 90 - Alan Branch
DE 92 - Alex Carrington 97 - Corbin Bryant
WLB 53 - Nigel Bradham 54 - Marcus Dowtin
MLB 50 - Kiko Alonso 52 - Arthur Moats
SLB 91 - Manny Lawson 93 - Jamaal Westerman
RCB 24 - Stephon Gilmore 26 - Justin Rogers
SS 23 - Aaron Williams 25 - Da'Norris Searcy 36 - Jonathan Meeks
FS 31 - Jairus Byrd 27 - Duke Williams
LCB 21 - Leodis McKelvin 33 - Ron Brooks 37 - Nickell Robey
K 5 - Dustin Hopkins
P 6 - Shawn Powell
LS 65 - Garrison Sanborn