clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 NFL Hall of Fame finalists: Andre Reed makes the cut

Bills legend Andre Reed is a Hall of Fame finalist for the eighth straight year. Is 2014 the year that he finally breaks through for induction?

Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

For an eighth consecutive year, former Buffalo Bills wide receiver Andre Reed has made it to the list of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Reed will jockey for position with two other wide receivers for the chance at induction: Colts legend Marvin Harrison, and Raiders legend Tim Brown. Reed has routinely finished ahead of Brown in the voting process over the years, but Harrison is a first-time nominee, and could present a hurdle for Reed to clear if he's going to finally break through this year.

Harrison played in Indy for 13 seasons, accumulating 1,102 receptions, 14,580 receiving yards and 128 touchdowns in that time frame. Those numbers soundly beat out the totals for both Reed (951 receptions, 13,198 yards, 87 touchdowns in 16 seasons) and Brown (1,094 receptions, 14,934 yards, 100 touchdowns in 16 seasons) on a per-year basis.

Here's the full list of this year's finalists. The list will be pared down to a final group of inductees prior to Super Bowl XLVIII on February 2.

  • Eddie DeBartolo, Jr.
  • Tony Dungy
  • RB Jerome Bettis
  • WR Tim Brown
  • WR Marvin Harrison
  • WR Andre Reed
  • OT Walter Jones
  • OL Will Shields
  • DE Kevin Greene
  • DE Charles Haley
  • DE Michael Strahan
  • LB Derrick Brooks
  • CB Aeneas Williams
  • S John Lynch
  • K Morten Andersen