clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL teams that have never won the Super bowl: Bills among 13

The Seattle Seahawks are now owners of a Lombardi Trophy, meaning that there are now only 13 teams in the NFL that have not yet won a Super Bowl. The Buffalo Bills, of course, are one of those teams.

Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY
Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills have never won a Super Bowl. You know that. What you may not have known is that until last night, neither had the Seattle Seahawks. They took their name off the dubious list of teams that had never won the big game with their 43-8 thrashing of Denver.

Four franchises - the Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans and Jacksonville Jaguars - have never even been to the Super Bowl. The Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, San Diego Chargers, and Tennessee Titans have each lost a single Super Bowl, while the Cincinnati Bengals and Philadelphia Eagles are 0-for-2.

The biggest conference winners that can't seem to close the deal are the Minnesota Vikings and the Bills, who have both been to four Super Bowls with zero championships.

Add everything up, and you're left with a very unlucky 13 franchises that have never won the Super Bowl.

The Bills did move off another irritating list this weekend, however. With the loss, the Denver Broncos now have five Super Bowl losses, one more than Buffalo, Minnesota, and the New England Patriots. There had previously been a four-way tie for the most Super Bowl losses.