clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall of Fame 2014: Marv Levy to present Andre Reed for induction

For a third time, head coach Marv Levy will present one of his former Buffalo Bills players for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Kevin Hoffman-USA TODAY Sports

Buffalo Bills fans will be invading Canton, Ohio this August to witness wide receiver Andre Reed inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Those in attendance now know who will be presenting Reed for enshrinement, and it's hardly a surprise: Reed's head coach, Marv Levy, will do the honors.

Levy, who will turn 89 the weekend that this year's Hall class is inducted, has twice before presented his players for Hall enshrinement: in 2002, when quarterback Jim Kelly was inducted, and again in 2007, when running back Thurman Thomas made the cut.

"Marv, I love you, man," Reed told Levy on Thursday in a SiriusXM NFL Radio interview announcing the decision (via Pro Football Talk). "We were like family, and we know we wouldn’t be where we are without each other."

Reed was a fourth-round draft pick in 1985; Levy joined the Bills as head coach the following season, in 1986. The two worked together in Buffalo for 12 years, making the playoffs eight times in that stretch, along with four straight Super Bowls.

Here's a list of every member of the Bills organization that has been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, along with their presenter at the induction ceremony.

Year Inductee Presenter
1985 O.J. Simpson Lou Saban
1999 Billy Shaw Ed Abramoski
2001 Marv Levy Bill Polian
2002 Jim Kelly Marv Levy
2003 James Lofton David Lofton
2003 Joe DeLamielleure Larry Felser
2007 Thurman Thomas Marv Levy
2009 Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Chris Berman
2009 Bruce Smith Ted Cottrell
2014 Andre Reed Marv Levy