clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Discuss: Who will be the next Buffalo Bills Hall of Fame inductee?

With the book now seemingly closed on the 1990s Buffalo Bills, who will be the next former Bill to be enshrined in Canton?

Larry Busacca
Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

Andre Reed's selection to the Pro Football Hall of Fame leaves many Buffalo Bills fans overjoyed and elated. After Reed's induction, they won't have to constantly beat the drum for one of their favorite players anymore. But that also means the wait begins for the next former Bill to become a Hall candidate. Who should be the next former Bill on the Hall of Fame radar?

Here are a few names to get the ball rolling on the conversation, but the comments section is all yours to come up with other potential nominees.

Terrell Owens

Terrell Owens is eligible for induction in 2016, and from a pure numbers standpoint is the odds-on favorite to be the next former Bills player in the Hall of Fame. He ranks sixth all-time in receptions, second in receiving yards and third in touchdowns. His enigmatic behavior might turn off some Hall voters, but it might be considered an upset if he doesn't get in in 2016.

Bill Polian

Polian moved quickly up the personnel department ranks in Buffalo in the mid 1980s, eventually becoming the team's general manager and drafting four future Hall of Famers in Reed, Jim Kelly, Thurman Thomas and Bruce Smith. He also signed another one when he added James Lofton. Following three Super Bowls, Polian left Buffalo and landed with the expansion Carolina Panthers a year later, building them into a Super Bowl contender in just two years. He was then hired by the Indianapolis Colts as team president, and in 14 seasons selected future Hall of Famers Peyton Manning and Marvin Harrison and won a Super Bowl. No general manager is in the Hall of Fame, but Polian's resume between three NFL cities is unique, and should warrant consideration. It is especially tough for contributors to make it past deserving players with the current voting structure.

Steve Tasker

Tasker has one thing that nobody else on this list does - he was a Hall of Fame semifinalist in 2011. That could be a good or bad thing. It's been proven that Hall of Fame voters respect him, but also that they won't put him in ahead of position players. Ray Guy's selection this year might pave the way for more special teams players down the line, and no one was better than Tasker. Like Guy, however, Tasker may have to wait for the veterans' committee to have a shot at him.

In addition to Reed, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Joe DeLamielleure, James Lofton, Jim Kelly, Thurman Thomas, and Bruce Smith are already in the Hall of Fame, as is coach Marv Levy and team owner Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Who else do you want to make a case for, Bills fans? Cookie Gilchrist? Kent Hull? Darryl Talley? Cornelius Bennett?