clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Terrell Owens a 2018 finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Owens spent one season in Western New York

Wide receiver Terrell Owens, who spent one season playing in Western New York with the Buffalo Bills, is among the 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame as announced Tuesday night.

Owens, who played in the NFL from 1996-2010, was drafted in the third round of the 1996 draft by the San Francisco 49ers out of the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Owens was one of the league’s most dynamic receiving threats of his era. When he retired in 2010, T.O. ranked second in receiving yards (15,934), touchdowns (153), and receptions (1,078), and was number one in popcorn sales.

After wearing out his welcome in Dallas, Owens struggled to find a long-term deal and came to Orchard Park on a one-year contract in 2009. Owens hauled in 55 passes for 829 yards with five touchdowns during his one season with the Bills, including a franchise-record 98-yard touchdown pass from Ryan Fitzpatrick vs. Jacksonville on Nov. 22.

The other finalists are: Ray Lewis (Baltimore Ravens), Brian Urlacher (Chicago Bears), Edgerrin James (Indianapolis Colts, Arizona Cardinals, Seattle Seahawks), Randy Moss (Minnesota Vikings, Oakland Raiders, New England Patriots, Tennessee Titans, 49ers), Isaac Bruce (St. Louis Rams, 49ers), John Lynch (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Denver Broncos), Brian Dawkins (Eagles and Broncos), Ty Law (Patriots, New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs, Broncos), Everson Walls (Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Cleveland Browns), Tony Boselli (Jacksonville Jaguars), Joe Jacoby (Washington Redskins), Steve Hutchinson (Seahawks, Vikings, Titans), Alan Faneca (Pittsburgh Steelers, Jets, Arizona Cardinals), and Kevin Mawae (Seahawks, Jets, Titans).

The 2018 class will be announced Feb. 3, the day before Super Bowl LII, with anywhere between four to eight new inductees into the Hall of Fame.