clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills players miss the cut in 2019 Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinal selection

No former Bills players are on the list of semifinalists.

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills had nine former players listed as nominees for the Class of 2019 for the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Unfortunately none of them made the cut from 102 to 25, per the announcement last night.

Super Bowl-era players C Kent Hull, LB Cornelius Bennett, LB Darryl Talley, and ST Steve Tasker were joined by more recent players FB Larry Centers, LB Takeo Spikes, LB London Fletcher, LB Chris Spielman, and FS Troy Vincent. Marty Schottenheimer, a player for the AFL-era Bills, was nominated as a coach.

Tasker is the only member of the group to previously make the cut as a semifinalist. He was one of the last men standing in 2004, 2008, 2009 & 2010 but his momentum seems to have waned with the influx of receivers from the 1990s and 2000s.

There are two former Bills on the list, and one who is a likely shoo-in for selection this year in his first year of eligibility. All-time great safety Ed Reed, who spent one season on the coaching staff of Rex Ryan when he was Buffalo’s head coach, seems like a lock for induction.

The other, Tom Flores, was nominated as a coach but played for the Bills during the 1960s, mainly as the backup to quarterback Jack Kemp.

Here are the semifinalists: