clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills offensive coordinator Brian Daboll named PFWA Assistant Coach of the Year

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

Buffalo Bills offensive coordinator Brian Daboll has been named the Assistant Coach of the Year by the Pro Football Writers of America. The award has been given since 1993 and he is the first Buffalo Bills coach to earn the honor.

Daboll was instrumental in the Bills’ 13-3 regular season record in 2020, engineering an offense that jumped into the stratosphere, coming in second in points scored, total yards, and scoring percentage. In addition, QB Josh Allen made a major leap from Year 2 to Year 3 in his development becoming an NFL MVP candidate. The team was able to have first-year receiver Stefon Diggs lead the league in receptions and receiving yards despite having no formal offseason program due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Looking at the list of former winners of the award, all of them have gone on to be head coaches in the NFL including former Bills coach Mike Mularkey (2001 with Pittsburgh) and Rex Ryan (2006 with Baltimore). Former Bills head coach Wade Phillips won the award in 2011 (Houston) and 2015 (Denver). Only last year’s winner Greg Roman and Daboll have yet to land a head coaching job.