clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Josh Allen, Buffalo Bills linemen fined for AFC Championship Game shenanigans

The three Bills received fines for their roles in a late-game altercation in the AFC title game.

The Buffalo Bills saw their chances of playing in their first Super Bowl in 27 years dashed by the Kansas City Chiefs, 38-24 in last Sunday’s AFC Championship game.

Nearly one week later, the NFL has fined three Bills for their role in an incident that took place late in the fourth quarter of the AFC title game.

With his team trailing by two touchdowns, Allen was sacked on a 3rd-and-10 by Chiefs’ defensive end Alex Okafor. After the sack, Allen tossed the football at Okafor’s head, a clear sign of frustration from Buffalo’s quarterback after the offense had been bottled up by the Chiefs, the reigning Super Bowl champions.

Okafor responded to having a football thrown at him by standing up over Allen and yelling at the Bills’ Pro Bowl quarterback. Bills’ guard Jon Feliciano responded and knocked Okafor backwards, while left tackle Dion Dawkins also came to Allen’s defense after the taunts from Okafor.

While all four players earned unsportsmanlike conduct penalties on the play, only the three Bills were fined by the league. Allen was docked $15,000 while Dawkins and Feliciano received $10,000 fines for their parts in the pushing and shoving incident, which came one series after Okafor committed a roughing-the-passer penalty on Allen.

Only Okafor appears to have avoided a fine from the NFL for his role in the incident.

Somehow, Chris Jones was able to throw a punch in the first quarter and avoid a fine and penalty in the game.