clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Josh Allen, Cole Beasley, Tre’Davious White, Andre Roberts named second-team All-Pro

Huge recognition for the Buffalo Bills.

The Buffalo Bills saw Stefon Diggs named as a first-team All-Pro by The Associated Press on Friday, but there’s more to celebrate: Four other players were chosen as second-team selections for one of the league’s most prestigious honors. Josh Allen, Cole Beasley, Tre’Davious White, and Andre Roberts all made the cut.

Allen ended up tied with Patrick Mahomes on the second team, with Aaron Rodgers taking the top spot. Put that sentence in a time machine and send it back to 2018, and see how it reads. Allen rewrote the passing record books this season in leading the Bills to a 13-3 record and one of the best offenses in the NFL, and also was chosen for his first ever Pro Bowl (although Allen was a Pro Bowl alternate in 2019, this year he was selected outright).

It’s a savvy decision for Cole Beasley to be selected here, in recognition of his fine work as maybe the league’s most productive slot receiver. While Diggs shared the first team with Davante Adams and Tyreek Hill, the second team was made up of DeAndre Hopkins, Calvin Ridley, Justin Jefferson, and a tie between Beasley and DK Metcalf. It was a career year for Beasley, who caught nearly 80 percent of his targets and was one missed game away from reaching 1000 receiving yards.

For White and Roberts, this isn’t uncharted territory. White was a first-team All-Pro selection in 2019, and Roberts reached that mark in 2018. Xavien Howard and Jalen Ramsey were this year’s first-team All-Pros (Howard led the league with ten interceptions, while Ramsey was well-publicized for locking down top receivers week-in and week-out). White was joined by Jaire Alexander on the second team. Roberts was chosen as a kick returner, and he led the NFL in kick return average with 30.0 yards this year. The first-team honor went to Cordarelle Patterson, who ranked second at 29.1, but Patterson scored a 104-yard touchdown this year, while none of Roberts’s returns made a house call.

In addition to the first-team and second-team players, seven more Bills received votes; RT Daryl Williams (1), C Mitch Morse (1), S Jordan Poyer (3), P Corey Bojorquez (2), PR Andre Roberts (6), ST Andre Roberts (1), and ST Tyler Matakevich (1).

If the Bills are looking for bulletin-board material this weekend, they’ll keep in mind that their Wild Card Round opponent, the Indianapolis Colts, had four first-team All-Pro selections and six overall. The full All-Pro roster can be viewed on the AP website.