clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Speed Option: Kansas City Chiefs

An AFC Championship rematch in primetime

AFC Championship - Buffalo Bills v Kansas City Chiefs Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

For the third time in less than a year, the Buffalo Bills will take on the Kansas City Chiefs, the now back-to-back AFC Champions. Get to know the Chiefs’ coaches and lineup, including a few new faces.


Kansas City has started the season 2-2; their worst start and the first time they haven’t started 4-0 since 2016. They began the season with a close win over the Cleveland Browns then suffered two straight close losses to the Baltimore Ravens and the Los Angeles Chargers. They broke their losing streak this past weekend with a win over the Philadelphia Eagles.

Head coach

Andy Reid is still leading the Chiefs and is in his 23rd season as an NFL head coach. His career record is 223-132-1 (0.628 percent) and his record with the Chiefs is 93-39 (0.705 percent).

Offensive coordinator

Eric Bieniemy is in his fourth season as the offensive coordinator for the Chiefs. He was promoted to the position from running backs coach when Matt Nagy left to become the head coach of the Chicago Bears. His offense currently ranks third in points per game and second in yards per game.

Defensive coordinator

Despite two middle-of-the-road seasons, the Chiefs retained Steve Spagnuolo as their defensive coordinator for this season. He joined Kansas City in 2019 after being the defensive coordinator for the New York Giants for four seasons. His defense has struggled this season and the results can be seen in their rankings. They are 31st in both points-per-game allowed and yards-per-game allowed.

Offensive Starters

  • QB: Patrick Mahomes
  • RB: Clyde Edwards-Helaire
  • WR: Tyreek Hill
  • WR: Demarcus Robinson
  • WR: Mecole Hardman
  • TE: Travis Kelce
  • LT: Orlando Brown ^
  • LG: Joe Thuney ^
  • C: Creed Humphrey *
  • RG: Trey Smith *
  • RT: Lucas Niang * (2020 draft pick who opted out)

^ = free agent / trade addition
* = rookie

Defensive Starters

  • LDE: Chris Jones
  • LDT: Jarran Reed ^
  • RDT: Derrick Nnadi
  • RDE: Frank Clark
  • LB: Ben Niemann
  • LB: Anthony Hitchens
  • LCB: Charvarius Ward
  • RCB: L’Jarius Sneed
  • CB: Mike Hughes ^
  • FS: Daniel Sorensen
  • SS: Tyrann Mathieu

^ = free agent / trade addition
* = rookie