clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona Cardinals’ “Hail Mary” win over Buffalo Bills is ESPY Awards Play of the Year

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills were on the receiving end of the ESPY’s Play of the Year. The awards ceremony was held Saturday night in New York City and voted on by fans. This year, the Arizona Cardinals’ game-winning touchdown was the winner.

With 39 seconds remaining in the game, Bills QB Josh Allen delivered a beautiful strike to Stefon Diggs in the end zone for a touchdown, giving Buffalo a 30-26 lead late in the game and ensuring that the Cardinals would have to drive the length of the field in order to score the go-ahead points.

After plays of 14, 9, and 9 yards with the Bills keeping the Cardinals pass catchers in front of them, Arizona sat on their own 48-yard line. Kyler Murray took the snap, drifted left and out of the pocket being chased by Mario Addison. Meanwhile, DeAndre Hopkins was running down the sideline toward the end zone. Murray heaved it and Hopkins came down with it in the middle of the trio of Bills defenders. Tre’Davious White, Micah Hyde, and Jordan Poyer were outmaneuvered for the score.

The two-point conversion attempt failed and the Cardinals now had a 32-30 lead with just two seconds left on the clock.

The loss ultimately fueled the Bills’ finish to the 2020 season. They flew home and went on their bye at 7-3 and didn’t lose again until the AFC Championship Game.