clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills roster cuts tracker, 2021

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

First things first, I want to remind you these are real human people losing their jobs today. Sometimes we treat them like cogs in a machine, and for many their dreams are literally being crushed right now and they will never wear a helmet again.

The Buffalo Bills and the other 31 NFL teams need to cut their rosters to 53 players by 4 p.m. EDT on Tuesday. In the article here, we will continuously update the leaks and rumors until the team announces the final roster at some point.

I’ve listed the entire current roster below and when we get a name, we will cross it off and add the tweet into the top of the article.

Roster cuts

  • S Josh Thomas released
  • CB Cam Lewis released
  • TE Jacob Hollister released (See Matt’s “Shenanigans” article here)
  • WR Steven Sims to be released
  • RB Antonio Williams reportedly released, PS priority target
  • Reportedly planning to release TE Nate Becker
  • WR Tanner Gentry and OL Jack Anderson release. Both reportedly may be back on PS
  • TE Quintin Morris released, also could be back for PS
  • OG Jamil Douglas released
  • DE Darryl Johnson traded to Panthers
  • RB Kerrith Whyte, WR Brandon Powell, and CB Tim Harris released
  • DT Treyvon Hester was placed on Injured Reserve in late August.
  • DE Bryan Cox, Jr. was placed on Injured Reserve in late July.

Bills roster (alphabetical by position)

Josh Allen
Jake Fromm
Mitch Trubisky
Davis Webb

Running Back
Matt Breida
Reggie Gilliam (Made roster, per Ryan Talbot)
Taiwan Jones
Zack Moss
Devin Singletary
Christian Wade
Kerrith Whyte
Antonio Williams

Wide Receiver
Cole Beasley
Gabriel Davis
Stefon Diggs
Tanner Gentry
Isaiah Hodgins
Jake Kumerow (Made roster, per Ryan Talbot)
Isaiah McKenzie
Brandon Powell
Emmanuel Sanders
Steven Sims
Marquez Stevenson

Tight end
Nate Becker
Jacob Hollister
Dawson Knox
Quintin Morris
Tommy Sweeney

Offensive tackle
Spencer Brown
Tommy Doyle (Made roster, per Jay Skurski)
Dion Dawkins
Bobby Hart
Daryl Williams

Interior OL
Jack Anderson
Ryan Bates
Ike Boettger
Jordan Devey
Jamil Douglas
Jon Feliciano
Cody Ford
Mitch Morse

Defensive Tackle
Brandin Bryant
Vernon Butler
Treyvon Hester (Injured reserve)
Star Lotulelei
Ed Oliver
Harrison Phillips
Justin Zimmer

Defensive End
Mario Addison
Carlos Basham, Jr.
Bryan Cox, Jr. (Injured reserve)
A.J. Epenesa
Jerry Hughes
Darryl Johnson Jr. (Traded)
Mike Love
Efe Obada
Greg Rousseau

Mike Bell
Tyrel Dodson
Tremaine Edmunds
Joe Giles-Harris
A.J. Klein
Marquel Lee
Tyler Matakevich
Matt Milano
Andre Smith (Made roster, per Jay Skurski)

Tim Harris
Olaijah Griffin
Dane Jackson
Taron Johnson
Cam Lewis
Nick McCloud
Siran Neal
Levi Wallace
Tre’Davious White
Rachad Wildgoose Jr.

Damar Hamlin (Made roster, per Matt Parrino)
Micah Hyde
Jaquan Johnson
Jordan Poyer
Josh Thomas

K Tyler Bass
LS Reid Ferguson
P Matt Haack