clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stefon Diggs, Micah Hyde among eight Buffalo Bills team captains for 2021

The Buffalo Bills have elected their eight team captains, and some new names and faces are in the group this year. QB Josh Allen, WR Stefon Diggs, LB Tremaine Edmunds, S Micah Hyde, S Jordan Poyer, LS Reid Ferguson, RB Taiwan Jones, and LB Tyler Matakevich are your team captains for 2021. New to the list this year are Diggs, Hyde, Matakevich, and Jones (sort of).

Diggs, of course, was called a locker room cancer at his previous stop in Minnesota, but the former Viking was named All-Pro last year after leading the league in receptions and yards and his teammates have consistently said how he raises the bar in practice. He’s joined on the offensive side of the ball by MVP runner-up Josh Allen, now in his third season of being a team captain since assuming the starting job. Left tackle Dion Dawkins was named a team captain in 2020 and 2019 but was left off the list in favor of Diggs this year.

Hyde joins the defensive captains this year, replacing defensive end Jerry Hughes who spent one year on the list. Poyer is now in his second year as a team captain and Edmunds will have the “C” for the third straight year.

For the special teams, Matakevich and Jones are newcomers to the captaincy as last year were their first with the team. Jones was a Bills captain in 2018 during his first stint on the team. The pair replaces Andre Roberts who left as a free agent this offseason. Reid Ferguson is entering his third year as a team captain.

Buffalo has turned over a lot of leadership in a short period of time. In 2018, the list was Patrick DiMarco, LeSean McCoy, Kyle Williams, Lorenzo Alexander, Stephen Hauschka, and Taiwan Jones.