clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Buffalo Bills roster cuts tracker, 2022

These players didn’t make the initial 53-man roster

Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills have begun releasing players to get from 80 down to the initial 53-man roster. The moves need to be completed by Tuesday, August 30th, at 4:00 PM Eastern.

Update as of Tuesday, 1:45 PM Eastern:

Luke Tenuta is the latest roster cut. We’re hearing that Isaiah Hodgins was also released.

Update as of Tuesday, 1:00 PM Eastern:

DL Brandin Bryant, DL Prince Emili, DL C.J. Brewer, and RB Raheem Blackshear have been informed of their release, per various reports.

In addition, the team conducted a practice this morning, and reporter Matt Parrino compiled a list of 55 Bills who were present, which would seem to unofficially capture the list of players who made the cut. Keep in mind that there could still be some wiggle room here; for instance, Tre’Davious White wasn’t on the list.

Update as of Tuesday, 9:30 AM Eastern:

RB Duke Johnson, WR Tanner Gentry, TE O.J. Howard, and OL Alec Anderson have been released, per various reports. The team has expressed interest in bringing back Johnson, Gentry, and Anderson to their practice squad.

The first move was to release punter Matt Araiza over the weekend, though at some point the Bills will sign a new punter to take his place.

On Monday morning, they announced a handful of the first cuts:

  • OL Jacob Capra
  • DE Daniel Joseph
  • DB Jordan Miller
  • OL Tanner Owen
  • WR Neil Pau’u
  • DB Josh Thomas

Thomas should find his way onto the practice squad and Capra has an outside shot, as well.

Current roster

Josh Allen
Matt Barkley
Case Keenum

Running Back
Raheem Blackshear
James Cook
Reggie Gilliam (FB)
Duke Johnson
Taiwan Jones
Zack Moss
Devin Singletary

Wide receiver
Jamison Crowder
Gabe Davis
Stefon Diggs
Tanner Gentry
Isaiah Hodgins
Jake Kumerow
Isaiah McKenzie
Neil Pau’u
Khalil Shakir
Marquez Stevenson

Tight end
Dawson Knox
Quintin Morris
Tommy Sweeney
O.J. Howard

Offensive tackle
Alec Anderson
Spencer Brown
Dion Dawkins
Tommy Doyle
David Quessenberry
Luke Tenuta

Interior OL
Ike Boetter (PUP)
Ryan Bates
Jacob Capra
Bobby Hart
Greg Mancz
Mitch Morse
Tanner Owen
Greg Van Roten
Rodger Saffold

Defensive tackle
Eli Ankou
C.J. Brewer
Brandin Bryant
Prince Emili
DaQuan Jones
Ed Oliver
Jordan Phillips
Tim Settle

Defensive end
Boogie Basham
A.J. Epenesa
Daniel Joseph
Kingsley Jonathan
Shaq Lawson
Mike Love
Von Miller
Greg Rousseau

Terrel Bernard
Tyrel Dodson
Tremaine Edmunds
Joe Giles-Harris
Tyler Matakevich
Matt Milano
Andre Smith (Suspended)
Baylon Spector

Christian Benford
Kaiir Elam
Ja’Marcus Ingram
Dane Jackson
Taron Johnson
Cam Lewis
Nick McCloud
Jordan Miller
Siran Neal
Tre’Davious White

Damar Hamlin
Micah Hyde
Jaquan Johnson
Jordan Poyer
Josh Thomas

P Matt Araiza
K Tyler Bass
LS Reid Ferguson

Related posts