clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Playoff Picture: Buffalo Bills clinch AFC East, earn 2 seed

The Buffalo Bills have four straight AFC East titles!

NFL: Buffalo Bills at Miami Dolphins Sam Navarro-USA TODAY Sports
Matt Warren is Associate Director of NFL coverage for SB Nation and previously covered the Bills for Buffalo Rumblings for more than a decade.

The Buffalo Bills have clinched the AFC East crown for the fourth straight season. The number 2 seed is theirs and they will host at least one game in the playoffs.

The Buffalo Bills defeated the Miami Dolphins in Week 18 to move to 11-6. The Dolphins also finished 11-6, but Buffalo had two victories over Miami to secure the head-to-head tiebreaker and claim the division once again. That was step one.

The Bills also have a head-to-head victory over the Kansas City Chiefs (11-6), which gave Buffalo the tiebreaker for the second seed in the AFC. That means if the Bills win in Wild Card weekend, they will host another playoff game in the divisional round.

With the Week 18 results, the Bills will host the Pittsburgh Steelers on Sunday, January 14th, at 1:00 pm Eastern on CBS with Jim Nantz and Tony Romo on the call. It’s the final AFC game of the weekend after Saturday’s doubleheader, so with a win, the Bills will also already know their divisional round opponent.

The Bills fell to 6-6 following an overtime loss to the Philadelphia Eagles in Week 12, but they settled down over their bye. Buffalo hasn’t lost since, winning five straight.

The last time the Bills won four straight divisional titles was 1988-1991. The only other time it’s happened in team history was the AFL, when Buffalo won from 1963-1966.

Final AFC Standings

1. Baltimore Ravens (13-4)
2. Buffalo Bills (11-6, 2 wins over Miami, win over KC)
3. Kansas City Chiefs (11-6, loss to BUF)
4. Houston Texans (10-7)
5. Cleveland Browns (11-6, 8-4 AFC)
6. Miami Dolphins (11-5, 7-5 AFC)
7. Pittsburgh Steelers (10-7)
8. Cincinnati Bengals (9-8, win over JAX)
9. Jacksonville Jaguars (9-8, two wins over IND, loss to CIN)
10. Indianapolis Colts (9-8, two losses to JAX)
11. Las Vegas Raiders (8-9, wins over DEN)
12. Denver Broncos (8-9, losses to LV)
13. New York Jets (7-10)
14. Tennessee Titans (6-11)
15. Los Angeles Chargers (5-12)
16. New England Patriots (4-13)