clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NFL Pro Bowl: last Buffalo Bills players, by position

Tyrod Taylor is the first Bills quarterback to make the Pro Bowl since 2002. When was the last time a Bill made the all-star game at each position, you ask? Glad you did so.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

Tonight's 2016 Pro Bowl will see three Buffalo Bills take the field, including the first quarterback in a Bills helmet since Drew Bledsoe's turn 13 years ago, following the 2002 regular season.

Tyrod Taylor, making his Pro Bowl debut, will be the fourth Bills quarterback to appear in the game since the AFL-NFL merger in 1970, following Jim Kelly (five times), Bledsoe, and Doug Flutie (once each). In addition, the Bills sent three quarterbacks to the AFL All-Star Game in the 1960s: Jack Kemp (six times), Daryle Lamonica, and Ed Rutkowski (once each).

The other Bills player who will be making his first trip to the Pro Bowl is center Eric Wood, who is now the second Bills center to be named to the team. The late Kent Hull finished his run of three consecutive Pro Bowls in 1990. (Mike Schneck was named to the 2005 team as a long snapper, if you want to count that.) Al Bemiller and Dave Behrman made one AFL All-Star Game apiece in the 1960s, as well.

The final Bill in the Pro Bowl is guard Richie Incognito, who will be appearing in the game for the second time, three years after his first Pro Bowl as a member of the Miami Dolphins. The Bills have a fairly strong history of sending guards to the Pro Bowl, relatively speaking, as Incognito will be the fifth to appear in the game since the merger. He joins the likes of Ruben Brown (eight times), Joe DeLamielleure (five times), Jim Ritcher, and Will Wolford (twice each). Pre-merger Bills guards who appeared in the AFL All-Star Game include Billy Shaw (eight times), Stew Barber (five times), Tom Day, George Flint, and Joe O'Donnell (once each).

LeSean McCoy, had he been able to play, would have been the first Bills running back in the game since C.J. Spiller in 2012. Here's a list of the most recent Bills Pro Bowlers, by position:

* - AFL All-Star Game

Position Name Season
QB Tyrod Taylor 2015
RB C.J. Spiller 2012
WR Eric Moulds 2002
TE Paul Costa 1966*
OT Jason Peters 2008
G Richie Incognito 2015
C Eric Wood 2015
DT Marcell Dareus, Kyle Williams 2014
DE Mario Williams 2014
LB Takeo Spikes 2004
CB Nate Clements 2004
S Jairus Byrd 2013
K Scott Norwood 1988
P Brian Moorman 2006
ST/KR Terrence McGee 2004